The Vague Disappointments of Frozen 2 – Spoilers

Well, this movie didn’t do it for me. And I’ve avoided writing about it. The fear of backlash has been on my mind as I see nothing but rave reviews and google articles about this highly grossing animated film. Frankly, aside from a handful of YouTube critics I deeply respect, most people in my circle like the film. But why? I’m not saying Frozen 2 is a disaster. It was entertaining and beautifully animated. It featured the same knock-out voice cast. It had award-winning Lopez songs. So, am I glad I saw it on the big screen? Of course. But will I re-watch it before bringing children into the world? Unlikely. Let me explain.

untitled

For all of its strengths, this move left an underwhelming impression. From the inferior music to the dismal color scheme, I just … wasn’t enchanted. Most flaws lie with the storyline, which plays out like a new Star Wars film. The tone is all over the place and the timeline feels like several drafts sewn together. (According to YouTube’s Nostalgia Critic – how will this messy plot fit into a Golden Book?) As a film enthusiast, I shouldn’t be googling a children’s film to better understand its plot. This is a direct-to-VHS quality script and that’s embarrassing.

Furthermore, the point of Frozen 2 negates the purpose of the first film entirely. Elsa’s journey of finding familial and self-love has turned into an artificial quest for the next best thing. I didn’t buy it.

frozen-2-poster-anna-olaf-618x451

While I think the movie is full of structural and development problems, I realize that Frozen 2 also triggered me on a personal level. Currently, I’m going through a significant transition in my life. And while these are good changes, like falling in love with a man who has shown me that romance and responsibility can go hand-in-hand, there are still a lot of changes. By the end of May, I will have gotten married, moved, and taken my first non-Canadian abroad trip. And for a dedicated creature of habit, this is a little jarring. To embrace the next chapter, I am saying goodbye to the only life I’ve known. And I’m getting sick of every animated film reminding me of the inevitability of change.

 
Starting with Wreck-it-Ralph: Ralph Breaks the Internet (which was okay at best), there has been an unnecessary trend of ‘goodbyes’ in animated movies. For some (e.g. How to Train Your Dragon), this story arch made sense and was plotted from the beginning. For others, it seemed like a bandwagon-jumping move to prove their franchise isn’t afraid to be edgy and serious. Again, I ask, why? Studios like Pixar and Studio Ghibli have proven that you can package mature themes in friendly settings. Why can’t anything new be preserved in a happily ever after jar? Art imitates life, I know. But sometimes I don’t want a bittersweet reminder. Sometimes I just want an escape to a haven of pleasant conclusions. And I think this should be Disney’s role in the entertainment industry. Why manufacture problems for Arendelle?

dabd3fe2-51b5-4578-bc54-f8be3f0faa5f-frozen

So, did Elsa really need to run away with the circus? No. She really didn’t. I wish she hadn’t.

Leave a comment