The “Reboot Generation”

The definition of insanity is trying the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

 

With a couple of exceptions aside, I have found myself let down by products that are a result of the “reboot generation”. We are the generation that clings onto every piece of 90s nostalgia, and I fear that this is crippling the entertainment industry. Granted, holding onto the past with reverence is hardly a new concept. And yet… the fun Internet memes that read, “Your childhood was awesome if you remember this…”, appear to be getting out of hand. I see nothing wrong with binge-watching a favorite childhood cartoon, but when programs like Fuller House are actually getting renewed… I’d say it’s time we all read more books. Again, I have been pleasantly surprised by a handful of reboot movies, so it isn’t fair to say that every updated version is a failure. However, when it comes to television, the quality of these reunion shows is… pathetic.

002

If this era of reboots has taught me anything, I can say with confidence that many shows do have an expiration date – an expiration date that should be heeded. I’ve already mentioned my disdain for Fuller House, and frankly, I can’t think of a better example of a show that has not stood the test of time. Every household watched the original on repeat, and every kid secretly wished that gentle music would play while their families resolved conflicts. Watching reruns as an adult, we accept that the dialogue is gimmicky and the characters never lose their tempers. On the other hand, the desperate-to-please spinoff just reminds me where the original fell short. Yes, we all still remember that Uncle Jesse loved Elvis. (Hello, is 1994 there? They would like their tired catch phrases back.)

001

Clearly, just digging up a beloved show and updating the wardrobe does not mean that said show will have any organic charm. Yet, I’ve also seen reboots take a different spin on the original, and that has been equally disappointing. Specifically, I eagerly anticipated the Boy Meets World reboot (in vain). With the exception of guest appearances and the brilliant young actress who plays the best friend, this show is no less irritating than typical Disney Channel fluff. Characterized by sloppy writing and a cliché NYC setting, I haven’t made it through one entire season of Girl Meets World. The most painful transformation to witness is Cory and Topanga (the power couple of my childhood) become fumbling, spacey parents. This is yet another example of a show that was better left untainted by a sequel. As far as other examples are concerned, I even go back and forth on the direction that The Muppets reboot took. Although the next season is supposed to be more family friendly, I’m still a little scarred by watching these characters suffer from rave hangovers…

003

At the end of the day, these reboot shows have made me feel neither nostalgic nor weepy… They have made me feel old; ancient. If I want to take a skip down memory lane, I can easily pop in a DVD, or turn on ABC Family (sorry, Freeform). Seeing a reimagined version where beloved characters have aged… It’s like showing up in Disney World only to find that Mickey Mouse now needs a cane to stroll around the Magic Kingdom.

 

Years ago, I caught a movie on TV that starred all of the kids from The Brady Bunch (now adults). Far from the sugary sitcom, this movie focused on the real-life struggles of the grown Brady characters. Even the corniest shows aren’t safe from unnecessary makeovers. That being said, the decision to create rebooted shows remains a cruel, cruel cycle for me, and many other viewers. The newest reboot sensation to make headlines is the return of the Gilmore Girls. Am I hopeful and excited? You bet.

004

Leave a comment